Stony Brook Film Festival



Call for Entries for the 13th Annual Stony Brook Film Festival - May 1st Deadline - Filmmakers Note: No Entry Fee


March 28, 2008, Stony Brook, Long Island, NY -- With a month left before the Call for Entries deadline, the staff at Stony Brook Film Festival at Stony Brook University sends out this reminder: keeping with past tradition, there is no entry fee to submit films, thanks to the Stony Brook Film Festival sponsors—among them, HBO, JetBlue, The Village Voice, Teachers Federal Credit Union and Suffolk


The deadline is May 1st for features, shorts, documentaries and animated films to be considered for the popular summer festival, scheduled Thursday, July 17 to Saturday, July 26, 2008. The Stony Brook Film Festival projects 35mm and beta formats and is known for the quality of its projection, its large audiences of up to 1,000 people per screening, and the size of its screen—one of the largest on the circuit. The complete schedule for the 13th Annual Stony Brook Film Festival will be announced June 2nd.


Alan Inkles, founder and director of the Stony Brook Film Festival notes, “We are receiving entries from farther afield and from new sales agents and distributors. I attribute this to word of mouth and to our ads on IndieWire, FilmThreat, and in Filmmaker Magazine, Moviemaker Magazine and the Village Voice. We’re proud of having a festival that has been run by the same core team since the beginning and of the relationships that have been built over time.”


Guests in recent years have included Christopher Plummer, M. Emmet Walsh, Michael Schroeder (Man in the Chair); Alan Alda; David Strathairn, (Heavens Fall, Steel Toes, The Sensation of Sight); Ghyslaine Coté and Ginette Reno (The Five of Us - Elles Étaient Cinq, A Family Secret - La Secret de ma mère); Terry Green (Almost Salinas, Heavens Fall), James Tolkan, Leelee Sobieski (Heavens Fall); Missi Pyle and Douglas Horn (Entry Level), John Putch  

and Jerry Rapp (Mojave Phone Booth); Tim Blake Nelson and David Arquette (The Grey Zone); Todd Komarnicki and Angelo Badalamenti (Resistance); Campbell Scott (Secret Lives of Dentists, Off the Map, The Dying Gaul); Mika Boorem and Jeff Kramer, (Smile); Frank Whaley (The Pursuit of Happiness, The Jimmy Show); and Mary Stuart Masterson, Michael Miner and Jena Malone (Book of Stars), among many others.


Filmmaker interviews and comments about the experience at Stony Brook are featured on the festival web site, that can be viewed by clicking on About Us - Festival Video and Info Film.  The Festival’s e-mail address is


As in past years, the Closing Night awards ceremony will be hosted by film critic John Anderson.  Last year, Picturehouse’s Senior Executive Vice President of Marketing and Distribution, Arthur Marblestone, and HBO’s CFO Rob Roth were among the industry notables attending.


Cash prizes and gifts at last summer’s Festival were donated by Teachers Federal Credit Union, Renaissance Technologies, HBO, JetBlue, Friends of Staller Center, and State Bank of Long Island.


All entries for 2008 must be postmarked May 1.  For entry form go to



Contact:  Julie Rulon Greene

(631) 632-7233

Marketing and Public Relations



Download Photos from server:

User ID and Password: staller



Cast and crew at Q&A for Man in the Chair at the Stony Brook Film Festival

Left to right: Terry Cafaro, editor; Christopher Plummer, actor; Sarah Schroeder, producer;

M. Emmet Walsh, actor; Michael Schroeder, writer/director. Photo credit: Pedro Sousa.



Left to right: Director and co-writer Ghyslaine Côté of A Family Secret (Le Secret de ma mère) which won the July Award for Best Feature; John Anderson, film critic; and Alan Inkles, Director of the Stony Brook Film Festival.   Photo credit: Pedro Sousa.